Oregon Association Chiefs of Police

2022-2023 Committees

PO Box 21719 Keizer, Oregon 97307 800-784-2867 503-315-1411 www.policechief.org



Standing Committees

<u>Awards</u>

This committee solicits, reviews, and decides on OACP award recipients for both the annual conference and special occasions. Committee meetings take place during the ELTS and Annual Conference. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.

Education, Training & Conference

This committee is responsible for coordinating all education and training opportunities at the conferences, develops the conference format, identifies/recruits viable conference venues, and coordinates conference responsibilities. Committee meetings take place during the ELTS and Annual Conference. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.

Executive Resources

This committee is responsible for developing programs and offering resources through the OACP that assist law enforcement leaders and local government partners. This committee continues to update and manage the Agency Review program and Linebacker program and is tasked with developing other programs to assist agencies. Committee meetings take place during the ELTS and Annual Conference. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.

Intergovernmental and Legislative

With the assistance of the OACP executive staff, this committee develops an OACP legislative agenda for each legislative session. The time commitment can be extensive and may involve meetings (in Salem during session), requests for review of legislation and opportunities to testify before legislative committees. Committee meetings take place during the ELTS, Annual Conference and Fall Conference and as needed during Legislative Sessions. Additional meetings may be scheduled by phone Mark Daniel – Mt. Angel PD Ryan Eaton – Corvallis PD Marcia Harnden – Albany PD Mitchell Hicks – Columbia River Inter-Tribal PD Dave Rash – Hubbard PD Jim deSully – DPSST

Jason Schermerhorn – Cannon Beach PD John Schmerber – Gladstone PD Luke Strait – Milwaukie PD Peter Mahuna – West Linn PD

Jim Ferraris – Retired Woodburn PD Mark Daniel – Mt. Angel PD Ty Hanlon – Sherwood PD DJ Graham – Medford PD Devin Lewis – Redmond PD David Vaughn – Albany PD Rob Dentinger – Klamath Falls PD Michael Iwai – Ontario PD Justin Ivens – Medford PD Shawn Adams – Eugene PD conference and committee work is conducted at meetings, by phone and by internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.

Membership

This committee is responsible for recruiting new members and for receiving, reviewing and forwarding applications for membership to the Board. This committee will also review memberships that may come into question by other members of the Association due to actions that would bring discredit to the Association. Committee meetings take place during the ELTS and Annual Conference. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.

Policies

The purpose of this committee is to assist in the sharing of polices with Oregon Law Enforcement agencies. The committee will collect individual policies and policy manuals for other agencies to access in the members-only section of the OACP website. Committee meetings take place during the ELTS and Annual Conference, but additional meetings may be scheduled. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.

Retired Members

This committee is responsible for representing the needs of retired members as they relate to membership in the OACP and for encouraging participation in the Association by retired members. This committee also gathers historical information about the association and presents information to the current association members. Committee meetings take place during the Annual Conference. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.

Scholarship – Community Action

This committee oversees the distribution of scholarships for current and prospective college students who are pursuing a career in the criminal justice field, scholarships to the OACP Annual Conference for chiefs of police and for retired members with financial need, and a scholarship for an OACP member to attend the IACP Conference. Committee meetings take place during the ELTS and Annual Conference. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.

Mathew Workman – Warrenton PD Jason Schermerhorn – Cannon Beach PD Derek Bowker – Phoenix PD Kristine Allison – Central Point PD Rob Dentinger – Klamath Falls PD Jeffrey Bowman – Gearhart PD

Ty Hanlon – Sherwood PD John Teague – Keizer PD

Jim Ferraris – Retired Woodburn PD

Mathew Workman – Warrenton PD Cord Wood - OSP Derek Bowker – Phoenix PD Debbie Aguilar – Salem PD

Second in Command/LEELI

The purpose of this committee is to evaluate opportunities within the OACP to expand participation and contributions by those aspiring to become a chief of police and/or who are in a position to serve as a second-in-command or acting chief. The committee will further the mentoring and development of future chiefs of police through program development, training and other areas that will help build a generation of well qualified, highly ethical police chiefs. Committee meetings primarily take place during the ELTS and Annual Conference, but additional meetings may be scheduled. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.

Mark Daniel – Mt. Angel PD Cord Wood – OSP DJ Graham – Medford PD James Pierce – Warrenton PD Devin Lewis – Redmond PD Robert Rogers – Tigard PD Marcia Harnden – Albany PD

Small Agency Committee

The purpose of this committee is to provide a forum to discuss matters that specifically affect small agencies and to represent those matters to the Association. Small agencies are generally described as agencies of 15 sworn officers or less and serving a population of 5,000 or less. This definition is intended to be inclusive, and not exclusive, of any agency small enough to have unique challenges because of their size and/or geographic location. Committee members may also organize training specific to small agencies. Committee meetings primarily take place during the ELTS and Annual Conference, but additional meetings may be scheduled. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.

Special Committees

Dress Uniform and Ceremony

This committee reviews and makes recommendations for standardization of dress uniforms and ceremonial duties for chiefs of police and command staff of municipal agencies. The committee work is conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System, and meets on an "as needed" basis. Cory Darling – Sunriver PD Derek Bowker – Phoenix PD James Pierce – Warrenton PD Ken Rueben – Philomath PD Jason Schermerhorn – Cannon Beach PD Mitchell Hicks – Columbia River Inter-Tribal PD